Sale!

A Moonless, Starless Sky – Ordinary Women And Men Fighting Extremism In Africa

$7.00

1 in stock

SKU: HV6433.A35-9780316382939 Categories: , Tags: , , , , , , ,

Description

Title: A Moonless, Starless Sky: Ordinary Women and Men Fighting Extremism in Africa
Condition: Used
Author(s): Alexis Okeowo
Topic(s): Political Science, World, African, Social Science, Women’s Studies, Human Rights, History, Africa, Genocide & War Crimes
Format: Hardcover
Features: Dust Jacket
Year: 2017

Details: **In the tradition of *Behind the Beautiful Forevers* and *Nothing to Envy* , this is a masterful, humane work of literary journalism by *New Yorker* staff writer Alexis Okeowo–a vivid narrative of Africans, many of them women, who are courageously resisting their continent’s wave of fundamentalism.**
In *A Moonless, Starless Sky* Okeowo weaves together four narratives that form a powerful tapestry of modern Africa: a young couple, kidnap victims of Joseph Kony’s LRA; a Mauritanian waging a lonely campaign against modern-day slavery; a women’s basketball team flourishing amid war-torn Somalia; and a vigilante who takes up arms against the extremist group Boko Haram. This debut book by one of America’s most acclaimed young journalists illuminates the inner lives of ordinary people doing the extraordinary–lives that are too often hidden, underreported, or ignored by the rest of the world.

Fast Tags: Political activists, Africa, Slavery, Nigeria, Somalia, Mauritania, Uganda, Forced marriage
ISBN: 9780316382939
DDC: 363.3215096
LCC: HV6433.A35
OCLC_OWI: 4417712598

Additional information

Weight1 lbs
Dimensions18 × 14 × 3 in
Authors

Year

Publication date

ISBN

9780316382939

Topic

Africa

Vintage

No

LCC

Brand

Book Title

A Moonless, Starless Sky – Ordinary Women And Men Fighting Extremism In Africa

Condition

Used – Good

Era

Features

Dust Jacket

Genre

, ,

Language

Narrative Type

Nonfiction

AgeGroup

Adults

Gender

unisex

Type

Material

Signed

No

Inscribed

No

DDC

Fast Tags

, , , , , , ,

OCLC_OWI

ConditionGood